The incredible people behind the scenes.

  • A-
  • A+

We are very fortunate to have a talented and diverse group of volunteers who serve on our Board of Directors. The people listed below provide hours of service annually to the credit union and our members to make sure that we continue to operate in a sound and fiscally responsible manner.

Meet The Team

Our current board members include:

Brandon Smith, Director

Brandon Smith


Brandon Smith has been a Heritage Grove member since 2014, and was elected to the Board of Directors in 2018. He is a Claims Supervisor at SAIF Corporation and serves on the Salem Planning Commission.

Mike Staten, Chairperson

Mike Staten


Mike Staten has been a Heritage Grove member for over 36 years. He has served on the Board of Directors and/or the Supervisory Committee since 2006 and recently retired from the State of Oregon, after working there for over 43 years.

Shelley Sneed, Vice Chairperson

Shelley Sneed

Vice Chairperson

Shelley Sneed was elected to Heritage Grove's Board of Directors in 2016 and serves as the board’s secretary. She works full time as the Executive Director of the Oregon Board of Optometry and owns two businesses.

Scott Shearer, Treasurer

Scott Shearer


Scott Shearer has been a member of Heritage Grove since early 2012. Scott was elected to the Heritage Grove Board of Directors in 2014 and was elected Chairman of the Board in 2016. He works as a Senior Compliance Specialist for the Oregon Public Utility Commission.

Deanna Rios, Director

Deanna Rios


Deanna Rios has been a member of Heritage Grove since 2015. She is serving her first term on the Board of Directors. She has worked for the State of Oregon since 1999. She works as a Lead worker/senior compliance specialist for a utility regulation agency. Deanna and her daughter live in Salem with their two house rabbits.

Judith Haynes, Secretary

Judith Haynes


Judith Haynes has been a member of Heritage Grove since 2008. She has been a board member since 2015. She is a retired educator and owns an online training business.

Steve Forrey, Director

Steve Forrey


Steve Forrey has been a Heritage Grove member for nearly four decades. He has served on the Board of Directors and/or the Supervisory Committee since 2005. He currently serves as the President of Everest Realty Group.

We're also served by a Supervisory Committee that is responsible for a number of functions at the credit union, including conducting the annual audit, resolving member disputes, and reviewing the credit union’s financials and records.

Our supervisory committee members are:

  • Mark Banick
  • David O'Neill
  • Nancy Curtis

If you're not a member and you'd like to enjoy the Heritage Grove difference, we'd be happy to get you enrolled today. You can also enroll online.

Customer Identification Program Notice

Board of Directors